Dada…Dammit: Issue 9- Write On

The hardest part about being a Stay-At-Home-Dad and writing is actually the same as the hardest part about writing:  writing. I know that sounds funny. It’s hard to figure out exactly what works best. It depends so much on the writer’s personality, their spouse’s personality (if there is one, spouse, that is.) and schedule, and their children. Especially the children.

My daughter has days, more often than not, where she needs my attention in full. She needs to be engaged. My current schedule has been waking up at 5 a.m. and attempting to write something and then editing throughout the day when I get a chance. *Note: I have yet to get a chance.

I finished my first novel by getting up early every morning and trying to hit a word count. I’m not a morning person either. As my daughter would clarify, ACTUALLY, I’m a night owl. I blame the years and years of working second and third shifts. My most creative hours seem to be late at night, more specific the bewitching hours, but after a long day I’m drained and have zero ability to write anything coherent. I can attest that I only finished my first novel by getting up earlier than everyone else.

So with the new year, I started in again. Five a.m. wake ups. It’s early enough and dark enough that it’s almost like I’m up at night. It takes awhile to get warmed up (literally sometimes), but it’s enabled me to start a little writing project. I’ve never been munch of a pantser as far as writing. I’m more of a stable list of scenes type of guy. I map out my plots and subplots and storyline. But now, 5 a.m. rolls around and I’m at my desk and keyboard with a hot cup of coffee ready to procrastinate, check Facebook and email, write.

It’s a lot tougher than it sounds. It’s agonizing. The words are all in your head (much like the voices) but they don’t want to come out. Type. Backspace. Type again. Backspace again. Stare. Stare some more. More coffee. Stare at the wall. Try to picture things. Type. It’s a repetitive process. But it pays off. Eventually. So far I’ve started a nice little story that may turn into something in time. And I’ve also started to get back on schedule and making it a habit again. I free write on this new story M/W/F for two hours or so before the Crown Queen of the Titans gets up and T/R I’ve set aside for other things like blog posts or articles. It looks like at some point I’ll have to work editing in there, or maybe just break down and schedule a two-hour block in every day.

Sometimes writing isn’t writing. It’s researching and experiencing things so that you can write. But sometimes writing is just  writing. Writing anything and everything. Writing crap and beauty, and articles, and poetry, and ranting or just a journal. Writing is writing.

SK

